Home Students Academics Admissions Faculty & Staff Research Retention Grant Programs Directory  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
Graduate Programs
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

African Studies & Research

Department Chair: Mbye Cham

Email: mcham@howard.edu

Phone: 202-238 2324

Director of Graduate Studies: Robert Edgar

Email: redgar@howard.edu

Phone: 202-238-2356

African Studies M.A., Ph.D. Specializations: Development Studies and Public Policy Studies; Africa in World Affairs and Language, Literature and the Arts

Phone: 202-238-2328

(top)

Anatomy

Department Chair, Director of Graduate Studies: Thomas Heinbockel

Email: theinbockel@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-9873

 

Anatomy M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology, Neuroscience, Evolutionary & Organismal Biology;

Phone: 202-806-6555

(top)

Art History

Department Chair: Gwendolyn Everett

Email: gheverett99@aol.com

Phone: 202-806-7047

 

Art M.A. Specialization: Art History;

Phone: 202-806-7047

Admissions to the master's degree program in Art History (M.A.) has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree students must complete degree requirements by August 2014.

(top)

Atmospheric Science

Program Director, Director of Graduate Studies: Everette Joseph

Email: ejoseph@howard.edu

Phone: (202) 806-6256

 

Atmospheric Science M.S., Ph.D. Specializations: remote sensing, aerosol physics and chemistry, air quality modeling, climate modeling and analysis, tropical meteorology;

Phone: 202-806-6246

(top)

Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Department Chair: Matthew George

Email: mgeorge@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6289 

Director of Graduate Studies: William Southerland

Email: wsoutherland@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-5039

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Biotechnology; Ph.D. specializations: Enzymology, Metabolic Regulation, Molecular Biology, Biochemical Nutrition, and Clinical Biochemistry;

Phone: 202-806-6289

(top)

Biology

Department Chair: Franklin R. Ampy

Email: fampy@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6952 

Director of Graduate Studies: Atanu Duttaroy

Email: aduttaroy@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6933

Biology M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Cell and Molecular Biology; Evolution, Ecologic and Systematic Biology;
Phone: 202-806-6935

(top)

Chemical Engineering

Department Chair: Ramesh Chawla

Email: rchawla@howard.edu

Phone: 202- 806-6624/4794

Director of Graduate Studies: Jason Ganley

Email: jganley@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4796

Chemical Engineering M.S. Specializations: Nanomaterials, Nanotechnology and Nanoprocessing, Environmental Engineering, and Bioprocess Engineering, Energy Systems and Fuel Cells, Process Control and Reactor Modeling, Transport Phenomena

Phone: 202-806- 6625

(top)

Chemistry

Department Chair: Folahan Ayorinde

Email: fayorinde@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6900

Director of Graduate Studies: Galina Talanova

Email: gtalanova@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4963

Chemistry M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Analytical Chemistry, Atmospheric Chemistry, Biochemistry, Environmental Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Laser Chemistry, Nanotechnology, Organic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Polymer Chemistry, Materials Chemistry, Theoretical Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Chemistry;

Phone: 202-806- 6900

(top)

Civil Engineering

Department Chair: Kimberly L. Jones

Email: kljones@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4807

Director of Graduate Studies: Errol C. Noel

Email: enoel@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6570

Civil Engineering M.S. specializations: Environmental and Water Resources Engineering, Structural and Engineering Mechanics, Transportation Systems Engineering, and Geotechnical Engineering;

Phone: 202-806- 6570

(top)

Communication Sciences & Disorders

Department Chair: Wilhelminia Wright-Harp

Email: wwright-harp@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6967 

Director of Graduate Studies: Kay Payne

Email: kpayne@howard.edu

Phone: 202- 806-4054


Communication Sciences and Disorders M.S. Specialization; Speech Pathology; PH.D. SPECIALIZATION: Communication Science

Phone: 202-806-6990

(top)

Economics

Department Chair: Rodney Green 

Email: rgreen@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7256 

Director of Graduate Studies: C. Kenrick Hunte

Email: chunte@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6717


Economics M.A., Ph.D. Specializations: Growth and Development, International, Urban, and Labor

Phone: 202-806-6717

(top)

Education

Director of Graduate Studies:
Angela D. Ferguson

Email: adferguson@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7340

 

 

Education M.A., M.S., Ph.D. Specializations: *Counseling, School Psychology, *Educational Psychology, Educational Administration and Policy, *Curriculum and Instruction; and (M.S.) *Human Development.

Phone: 202-806-7340

For programs denoted above by (*) admissions to the master's degree program in Education has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree students must complete degree requirements by August 2014. Currently enrolled doctoral students must complete degree requuirements by August 2018.


(top)

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Department Chair: Mohamed Chouika 

Email: mchouikha@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806- 6585 

Director of Graduate Studies: Charles Kim

Email: ckim@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4821

Electrical and Computer Engineering: M. Eng. Specializations: Electromagnetic, Materials and Solid State Electronics, Power Systems and Control, Motion Controls & Drives, Computer Engineering, Communications and Signal Processing.
Ph.D. specializations: Communications and Signal Processing, Motion Controls and Drives, Applied Microelectronics and Solid State Electronics, Power Systems and Control

Phone: 202-806-6585


(top)

English

Department Chair: Dana Williams

Email: d_williams@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6730

Department Chair: Gregory Hampton

Email: ghampton@howard.edu

Phone: (202) 806-6700

English M.A., Ph.D. Specializations: African American Literature, American Literature, Caribbean Literature, British Literature, and Literary Criticism

Phone: 202-806-7730

(top)

Genetics & Human Genetics

Department Chair and Director of Graduate Studies: Kareem Washington

Email: kareem.washington@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-9499

Director of Genetic Counseling: Barbara Harrison

Email: bwharrison@@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6329

Genetics and Human Genetics M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Biochemical and Molecular Genetics, Clinical Genetics-Genetic Counseling, and Psychosocial Aspects of Genetic Disorder

Phone: 202-806-6381

(top)

Health, Human Performance and Leisure Studies

Department Chair: Roberta Hollander  

Email: rhollander@howard.edu

Phone: (202) 806-7142

Director of Graduate Studies: Denyce Calloway

Email: dcalloway@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7142

Health, Human Performance and Leisure Studies M.S. Specializations: Exercise Physiology, Health Education, Sport Management, and Sports Sociology

Phone: 202-806-7142

Admissions to the master's degree program in Health, Human Performance and Leisure Studies has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree students must complete degree requirements by August 2014.

History

Department Chair: Edna Medford 

Email: emedford@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-9365

Director of Graduate Studies: Ana Araujo

Email: aaraujo@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-9362

History MA, Ph.D. Specializations: United States, Africa, Latin American and Caribbean, and African Diaspora. MA only in Modern Europe and Public History

Phone: 202-806-7030

(top)

Mass Communication & Media Studies Program

Program Chair: Barbara Hines 

Email: bahines@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-5122

 

Mass Communication and Media Studies (MCMS), Ph.D. Specializations: Strategic Communication (Advertising & Public Relations), Media Studies (Radio, Television, Journalism, Flim, Media Effects), Communication Policies (International, Interactive, Development, Diversity)

Phone: 202-806-5122


For programs denoted above by (*) admissions to the master's degree program in Mass Communication and Media Studies has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree students must complete degree requirements by August 2014.

Ph.D. program is still offered
.

Mathematics

Department Chair: Abdul-Aziz Yakubu 

Email: ayakubu@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6830

Director of Graduate Studies: Toka Diagana

Email: tdiagana@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6830

Mathematics M.S., Ph.D. Specializations: Analysis, Combinatorics, Differential Geometry and Lie Theory, Differential Equations, Dynamical Systems, Fluid Mechanics, Number Theory, Probability, Statistics, Topological Semigroups, Algebra, and Mathematical Biology
Phone: 202-806-6830

Mechanical Engineering

Department Chair: Sonja Smith  

Email: ssmith@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4837

Director of Graduate Studies: James Hammonds

Email: jhammonds@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6622

Mechanical Engineering M.Eng., Ph.D. Specializations: fluid and thermal sciences; applied mechanics; and design and manufacturing; hwhitworth@howard.edu;
Phone: 202-806-6600

 

(top)

Microbiology

Department Chair: Agnes Day 

Email: aday@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6284

Director of Graduate Studies: Earl Bloch

Email: ebloch@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4673

Microbiology Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Immunology, Virology, Pathogenic Microbiology, Cell and Molecular Biology (Cancer), and Genomics
Phone: 202-806-6285

(top)

Nutritional Science

Department Chair:Thelma Baker

Email: ajohnson@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6238

Director of Graduate Studies: Allan Johnson

Email: ajohnson@howard.edu

Phone:

Nutritional Science M.S., Ph.D. Specializations: Experimental Nutrition, Nutrition and Community Nutrition
Phone: 202-806-6238

(top)

Pharmaceutical Sciences

Department Chair: Muhammad Habib

Email: mhabib@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6529

Director of Graduate Studies: Eunkyung Lee

Email: eunlee@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4919

Pharmaceutical Sciences M.S., Ph.D., MD/Ph.D. Specializations: Pharmaceutics, Pharmacy Administration and Medicinal Chemistry
Phone: 202-806-4478

(top)

Pharmacology

Interim Chair: Robert Taylor

Email: rtaylor@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6311

Director of Graduate Studies: Sidney Green

Email: sidgreen@howard.edu

Phone: (202) 806-9748

 

Pharmacology M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Neuro and Behavioral, Cardiovascular, Cancer, Toxicology (Cellular and Molecular)
Phone: 202-806-6311


(top)

Philosophy

Department Chair: Patrick Goodin

Email: pgoodin@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6811

Director of Graduate Studies: Charles Verharen

Email: cverharen@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6811

Philosophy M.A. Specializations: Africana (African, African American, and Afro-Caribbean) *Philosophy; Ethics and Public Policy.
Phone: 202-806-6811


For programs denoted above by (*) admissions to the master's degree program in Philosopy has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree students must complete degree requirements by August 2014.

(top)

Physics & Astronomy

Department Interim Chair: Prabhakar Misra

Email: pmisra@Howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6245

Director of Graduate Studies: Belay Demoz

Email: bbdemoz@Howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6267

Physics and Astronomy M.S. , Ph.D. Specializations: Atmospheric Physics, Computational Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, High Energy Particle Physics, Plasma Physics, Spectroscopy and Optical Physics
Phone: 202-806-6246

(top)

Physiology & Biophysics

Department Chair: Werner Graf

Email: wgraf@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6330

Director of Graduate Studies: Kebreten Manaye

Email: kmanaye@howard.edu

Phone: 202 806-6346

Physiology and Biophysics Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Neurophysiology, Cardiovascular, Endocrinology and Cellular Physiology; Cardiovascular, Pulmonary, and Renal Physiology.
Phone: 202-806-6330

(top)

Political Science

Department Chair: Daryl B. Harris

Email: polisci@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6720

Director of Graduate Studies: Ben Fred-Mensah

Email: bfred-mensah@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6720

Political Science M.A., M.A.P.A., Ph.D. specializations: American Government and Politics, Public Administration and Public Policy, Comparative Government, International Relations, Political Theory and Black Politics.
Phone: 202-806-9383

Tthe Master of Arts in Public Administration (MAPA) degree program has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree in the Master of Arts in Public Administration (MAPA) students must complete degree requirements by August 2014.

(top)

Psychology

Department Chair: Alfonso Campbell

Email: acampbell@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6805

Director of Graduate Studies: Wade Boykin

Email: boykin@crespar.law.howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6805

Psychology M.S., Ph.D. Specializations: Social Psychology, Personality, Neuropsychology, Developmental, Experimental, and Clinical Psychology.
Phone: 202-806-6805

(top)

Social Work

Dean: Cudore Snell

Email: csnell@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7300

Director of Graduate Studies: Fariyal Ross-Sheriff

Email: fross-sheriff@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7305

Social Work Ph.D. Specializations: Migration and International Social Development; Family and Community Resilience and Health and Wellbeing.
Phone: 202-806-7306

(top)

Sociology & Anthropology

Department Chair: Ivor Livingston

Email: ilivingston@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6854

Director of Graduate Studies: Ernest Quimby

Email: equimby@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6853

Sociology and Anthropology M.A., Ph.D. Specializations: Criminology, Medical Sociology, Social Inequality; Race/ Ethnicity, Class, and Gender/ Sexuality, Urban Sociology.

Phone: 202-806-6858

(top)

Systems & Computer Science

Department Chair: Legand Burge

Email: lburge@howard.edu

Phone: (202) 806-4852

Department Chair: John Trimble

Email: jtrimble@howard.edu

Phone: (202) 806-4822

 

Systems and Computer Science M.C.S. Specializations: Software Engineering, Computer Security, Artificial intelligence, Data Communications, Computer Systems.
Phone: 202-806-4831


(top)

World Languages & Culture

Department Chair: James Davis

Email: jdavis@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6758

Director of Graduate Studies: Clement Akassi

Email: cakassi@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6700

World Languages & Culture M.A. Specializations: *French Language and Literature, French Language and Linguistics, Afro-French Literature, *Spanish Language and Literature, Spanish Language and Linguistics, Afro-Hispanic Literature, and Foreign Language Education.
Phone: 202-806-6758

For programs denoted above by (*) admissions to the master's degree program in World Languages and Culture has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree students must complete degree requirements by August 2014.


(top)

OTHER Schools and Colleges Offering Graduate Degrees

In addition to the Graduate School, School of Business: 202-806-1500; School of Communications: 202-806-7690; School of Divinity: 202-806-0500; School of Education: 202-806-7340;& College of Engineering, Architecture and Computer Sciences: 202-806-6565; School of Social Work: 202-806-7300; College of Pharmacy, Nursing, and Allied Health Sciences: 202-806-5431


How to Apply

Transcripts, scores, and letters of recommendations (in sealed envelopes) should be sent directly from the colleges and universities attended.

 

 

Copyright © Howard University, Graduate School, All rights reserved.
4th and College Streets, NW, Washington DC 20059 |
Contact Webmaster
Tel.:202-806-6800 Fax.:202-462-4053 Contact Howard - WWW Disclaimer - Graduate School Archives